Welcome to TweenCity!

Welcome to TweenCity!

This blog is designed to be a selection resource for children between the ages of 9-14, as well as a reader's advisory tool for both current and future librarians.

PLEASE NOTE: An appropriate age range is given for each title, however this is merely a suggestion. Children, especially tweens, read at many different levels which cannot be determined simply by age or grade level. Therefore, it is important to assess each child's reading level before suggesting titles. In addition, since this blog is designed for tweens only, some titles listed may also be appropriate for children older or younger than ages 9-14, but these ages will not be listed.

Ages 9-12: Elementary school level (Grades 3-6)
Ages 12-14: Middle school level (Grades 7-8)

Saturday, December 4

Waters, Mark. (Director). (2008). The Spiderwick Chronicles [Motion picture]. United States: Paramount Pictures. Ages 9-12.

When the Grace family moves into the old Spiderwick Estate, strange things begin to happen. Jared is blamed early on because of his anger issues, but after discovering Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide in a secret room in the house, Jared slowly convinces his sister Mallory and twin brother Simon of the secret world of fantastical creatures that lies hidden within their own. So when the evil ogre Mulgarath gets wind of the field guide’s existence, the Grace family puts aside their differences and fights the ogre army in order to protect the book and its secrets, as well as their fragile family. Based on the beloved series by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black.