Welcome to TweenCity!

Welcome to TweenCity!

This blog is designed to be a selection resource for children between the ages of 9-14, as well as a reader's advisory tool for both current and future librarians.

PLEASE NOTE: An appropriate age range is given for each title, however this is merely a suggestion. Children, especially tweens, read at many different levels which cannot be determined simply by age or grade level. Therefore, it is important to assess each child's reading level before suggesting titles. In addition, since this blog is designed for tweens only, some titles listed may also be appropriate for children older or younger than ages 9-14, but these ages will not be listed.

Ages 9-12: Elementary school level (Grades 3-6)
Ages 12-14: Middle school level (Grades 7-8)

Monday, December 20

DiTerlizzi, Tony, and Black, Holly. The Spiderwick Chronicles Book 1: The Field Guide. Simon & Schuster, 2003. ISBN 978-0689859366. Ages 9-12.

When Jared, Simon and Mallory Grace move into the old Spiderwick Estate, they are unprepared for the magical and fantastic occurrences they experience. Eager to explore and learn more about their surroundings, they stumble upon an old book detailing the existence of fairies and other creatures. Readers eager to move on to chapter books will enjoy the simple books in the Spiderwick series, as they join the Grace children on adventure after adventure in the world of Arthur Spiderwick. Readers will not be satisfied with reading just this first volume, as it merely introduces the characters and setting for what is sure to be a wild adventure.