Welcome to TweenCity!

Welcome to TweenCity!

This blog is designed to be a selection resource for children between the ages of 9-14, as well as a reader's advisory tool for both current and future librarians.

PLEASE NOTE: An appropriate age range is given for each title, however this is merely a suggestion. Children, especially tweens, read at many different levels which cannot be determined simply by age or grade level. Therefore, it is important to assess each child's reading level before suggesting titles. In addition, since this blog is designed for tweens only, some titles listed may also be appropriate for children older or younger than ages 9-14, but these ages will not be listed.

Ages 9-12: Elementary school level (Grades 3-6)
Ages 12-14: Middle school level (Grades 7-8)

Monday, November 22

Cunningham, David L. (Director). (2007). The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising [Motion picture]. United States: Twentieth Century Fox. Ages 9-14.

The seventh son of a seventh son, Will Stanton finds out that he is The Seeker on his fourteenth birthday. Meant to restore the balance between light and dark, he is challenged to find six signs hidden throughout time. With these signs in his possession he will obtain the power to defeat the Rider, who is gaining the power necessary to destroy the Light. With the help of the Old Ones, Will takes on the Rider in a final battle of Light versus Dark, and consequently restores his family as well. Loosely based on the second book in Susan Cooper’s popular series.